Value Lessons More than Successes

I recently heard a speaker say, “Value lessons more than successes.” The presenter also emphasized that there’s no failure, only feedback (Derek Doepker). I needed to hear that.

Over the past eighteen months I researched facts and then excitedly began to write my next novel, tentatively titled, All That Glitters. The project, about two orphans accompanying their guardian West on a wagon train just before the California gold rush, has morphed several times. Now, two-thirds of the way through, I recently paid a writing coach to provide feedback. The input I received made sense but implementing the critique will almost put me back to square one.

stomachpain4.jpegAs I allow the truth of the coach’s comments to sink in, the sickening pit in my stomach threatens to paralyze me. I had the same feeling when the middle school band I taught several years ago worked hard to get a Superior rating at a music festival. We performed well but only received a second place score. What more could we have done? I realized then to value lessons more than success.

Perspective – At first Band1.jpegI felt as though all the writing I’d done on All That Glitters was for nothing. Then I remembered that as a band teacher I always had students warm up on scales, arpeggios, rhythm exercises and chords to listen for intonation. I’d never have my students play those warm up drills for a concert, but they served as an important rehearsal technique that, in the end, helped to create a beautiful performance.

So with my writing. If I take my coach’s comments as feedback not failure, If I view my present word count as rehearsals and warm ups rather than a concert, then I’m that much closer to creating a well-tuned piece that will soon grace your shelf with a well-crafted, gripping story that you’ll find hard to put down!

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Value Lessons More than Successes

  1. Thanks, Marie, for sharing a lesson I also need to embrace. Painful yet a truth that sets us free to be our best.

    Like

  2. Yes, definitely painful! Thanks for your comment, Karen.

    Like

  3. Pingback: How to Choose Your Story’s Structure | Sontag Writing Dreams

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

That Ranch Life

A Donkumentary of City-Turned-Country Livin'

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

ACFW - DFW CHAPTER a.k.a. DFW Ready Writers

"Nothing happens unless first a dream." Carl Sandburg

Bay Area Writing Group

Northern California Chapter of American Christian Fiction Writers

Letters to Noah

Spoken words are fleeting, but written words last beyond a lifetime.

Sontag Writing Dreams

"Nothing happens unless first a dream." Carl Sandburg

marsha ottum owen

I make Children's Books

Under His Wings

"Nothing happens unless first a dream." Carl Sandburg

Cathleen Armstrong

"Nothing happens unless first a dream." Carl Sandburg

A Writer's Diary

Author, Educator, Consultant

That Ranch Life

A Donkumentary of City-Turned-Country Livin'

Blissful Scribbles

Musings through the journey of writing my first novel

ACFW - DFW CHAPTER a.k.a. DFW Ready Writers

"Nothing happens unless first a dream." Carl Sandburg

Bay Area Writing Group

Northern California Chapter of American Christian Fiction Writers

Letters to Noah

Spoken words are fleeting, but written words last beyond a lifetime.

Sontag Writing Dreams

"Nothing happens unless first a dream." Carl Sandburg

marsha ottum owen

I make Children's Books

Under His Wings

"Nothing happens unless first a dream." Carl Sandburg

Cathleen Armstrong

"Nothing happens unless first a dream." Carl Sandburg

A Writer's Diary

Author, Educator, Consultant

